Jason Stajich elected as Fellow into the American Academy of Microbiology

68 Fellows elected into the American Academy of Microbiology
By Joanna Urban | American Academy of Microbiology |


Washington, DC – In February, the American Academy of Microbiology (Academy) elected 68 new Fellows to the Class of 2020. Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology, an honorific leadership group within the ASM, are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. The Academy received 118 nominations this year and accepted 58% of nominees.

There are over 2,500 Fellows in the Academy representing all subspecialties of the microbial sciences and involved in basic and applied research, teaching, public health, industry, and government service. In addition, Fellows hail from all around the globe. The Class of 2020 represents fellows from 11 different countries, including Australia, Austria, Brazil, Chile, China, France, Germany, Israel, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The 2020 Academy Fellows are:

  • Christopher Aiken, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University Medical Center
  • David Alland, M.D., M.Sc. DTM&H, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
  • Lauren Bakaletz, Ph.D., Abigail Wexner Research Institute at Nationwide Children’s Hospital
  • Jimmy Ballard, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma Health Science Center
  • Gregory Barton, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
  • Richard Bennett, Ph.D., Brown University
  • Kristen Bernard, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, School of Veterinary Medicine
  • David Blehert, Ph.D., U.S. Geological Survey National Wildlife Health Center
  • Robert Bourret, Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, School of Medicine
  • Miriam Braunstein, Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, School of Medicine
  • Shi Chen, Ph.D., Wuhan University
  • Peter Chien, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Jeffrey Cirillo, Ph.D., Texas A & M University, College of Medicine
  • Cynthia Cornelissen, Ph.D., Georgia State University
  • Robert Cramer, Ph.D., Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
  • Christina Cuomo, Ph.D., Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
  • Andrew Darwin, Ph.D., New York University
  • Valérie de Crécy-Lagard, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Christophe d'Enfert, Ph.D., Institut Pasteur
  • Anna Dongari-Bagztoglou, M.D., Ph.D., University of Connecticut
  • Michael Federle, Ph.D., University of Illinois, College of Pharmacy
  • Matthew Fisher, Ph.D., Imperial College London
  • Katherine Fitzgerald, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Medical School
  • Nisha Garg, M.D., University of Texas Medical Branch
  • Wendy Garrett, Ph.D., Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
  • Uri Gophna, Ph.D., Tel Aviv University
  • Mark Goulian, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
  • Sarah Gurr, Ph.D., Exeter University
  • Randall Hayden, Ph.D., St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
  • Eric Houpt, M.D., University of Virginia
  • Akiko Iwasaki, M.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Yale University School of Medicine
  • Dong-Yan Jin, M.D., Ph.D., Sc.D., University of Hong Kong
  • Dennis Kyle, Ph.D., University of Georgia
  • Scott Landfear, Ph.D., Oregon Health & Science University
  • Luis Larrondo, Ph.D., Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
  • Cornelia Lass-Flörl, M.D., Ph.D., Medical University of Innsbruck, Institute of Hygiene and Medical Mycology, CD Laboratory for Invasive Fungal Infection
  • Benhur Lee, Ph.D., Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Jian Li, Ph.D., Monash University
  • Purificacion Lopez-Garcia, Ph.D., Centre National de la Recheche Scientifique     
  • Chuanbin Mao, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
  • Pietro Mastroeni, M.D., Ph.D., Sci.D., University of Cambridge    
  • Kalai Mathee, Ph.D., Florida International University
  • Robin May, Ph.D., University of Birmingham
  • Sandra McLellan, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin School of Freshwater Sciences
  • Douglas Nixon, Ph.D., Weill Cornell Medicine
  • Suzanne Noble, Ph.D., University of California San Francisco (UCSF)
  • Henry Paulus, M.D., Ph.D., University of Chicago
  • Andrew Pekosz, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health              
  • Mircea  Podar, Ph.D., Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Sanjay Ram, M.D., University of Massachusetts Medical School
  • Lalita Ramakrishnan, Ph.D., University of Cambridge
  • Michael Riscoe, Ph.D., Oregon Health & Science University
  • Marcio  Rodrigues, Ph.D., Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz), Carlos Chagas Institute
  • Louise Rollins-Smith, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University Medical Center
  • Tony Romeo, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Cliona Rooney, Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine
  • David Rudner, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School
  • Nasia Safdar, M.D., Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Jason Stajich, Ph.D., University of California, Riverside
  • Chad Steele, Ph.D., Tulane University School of Medicine
  • Roger Stephan, D.V.M., Ph.D., University of Zurich, Institute for Food Safety and Hygiene
  • Eva Stukenbrock, Ph.D., Max Planck Institute of Evolutionary Biology
  • Matthew Sullivan, Ph.D., Ohio State University
  • Joyce Sutcliffe, Ph.D., Institute for Life Science Entrepreneurship
  • Christine Szymanski, Ph.D., University of Georgia
  • Brenda Wilson, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Tanja Woyke, Ph.D., U.S. Department of Energy Joint Genome Institute
  • Hui Wu, Ph.D., University of Alabama at Birmingham



Read the original announcement on the AMS website:

View article




Let us help you with your search