About the Dean

Interim Dean Cynthia K. Larive

Interim Dean and Professor of Chemistry Cynthia K. Larive earned her B.S. in chemistry from the South Dakota State University, her M.S. in inorganic chemistry from Purdue University and her Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from the University of California, Riverside.

Prior to serving as interim dean, she served as divisional dean for Chemistry, Mathematics, and Physics and Astronomy at CNAS beginning in 2013, managing recruitments, teaching and facilities for the Departments of Chemistry, Mathematics, and Physics and Astronomy. As divisional dean, she worked in close partnership with the other divisional deans on issues related to the college budget, faculty merits and promotions, programs for student success and junior faculty mentoring.

She served as chair of the Department of Chemistry from 2012 to 2014 where she managing 30 faculty and 18 staff members and was directly responsible for the research enterprise and success of the chemistry service, its undergraduate and graduate teaching programs and the department budget. During her tenure, she created a new department website and a newsletter to improve communication with alumni and worked to increase the visibility of the department and raise funds to support its teaching and research missions.

She was appointed professor of chemistry at UCR in 2005 and during her tenure has served the department as graduate advisor, undergraduate advisor and director of the Analytical Chemistry Instrumentation Facility. She was awarded cooperating faculty member appointments in the Departments of Biochemistry, Bioengineering, and Biomedical Sciences, and served as a member of the Environmental Toxicology program faculty, the Center for Plant Cell Biology (CEPCEB), the Institute for Integrative Genome Biology (IIGB), and the California Food and Agriculture Enterprise (CAFÉ) advisory board.

Prior to coming to UCR, she served as professor of chemistry at the University of Kansas from 1992 to 2004. She joined the KU faculty as assistant professor in 1992 and rose through the ranks to professor in 2003. From 2001-2004, held a courtesy professor appointment in the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry.

Her honors and awards include:

  • Fellow, Academy for Innovative Higher Education Leadership, 2014-15
  • Award for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society ACS, 2015
  • Chair, ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry 2011-2014
  • ACS Fellow, 2011
  • UC-Riverside Innovative Teaching Award, 2011
  • AAAS Fellow, 2008
  • J. Calvin Giddings Award for Excellence in Education, ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry, 2007
  • Honorary Doctorate, College of Pharmacy, Semmelweis University, Budapest, Hungary, 2005
  • IUPAC Fellow, 2004
  • University of Kansas Award for Teaching Excellence in Chemistry, 2002
  • IUPAC Young Observer, 2001
  • Kaw Valley Girl Scout Woman of Distinction, 1997
  • Eli Lilly New Faculty Award, 1996
  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award, 1995
 Interim Dean Cynthia K. Larive

Interim Dean Cynthia K. Larive

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

College Information

CNAS Dean's Office
College Building North, Floors 2 & 3
Tel: (951) 827-6555
Fax: (951) 827-4190

Personnel Services
Life Sciences, Floor 2